Belle Glade Sun

O’Bannon sworn in to Health Care Board

Special to The Sun/Courtesy photo. Commissioner O’Bannon being sworn in by Health Care District Board Chair Philip H. Ward, III at the December Health Care District Board meeting.

PALM SPRINGS – Sean O’Bannon, a retired veteran fire administrator with Palm Beach County Fire Rescue, was sworn in as the newest Health Care District Board member by Commissioner Philip H. Ward, III, Board Chair, at the Wednesday, Dec. 14, Health Care District of Palm Beach County Board meeting. Mr. O’Bannon was appointed to the Health Care District Board on Dec. 6 by the Palm Beach County Board of County Commissioners to serve a four-year term. He replaces Carol A. Roberts, former Palm Beach County Commissioner, who served on the volunteer Health Care District Board for eight years before being term limited. Mr. O’Bannon was the former Division Chief of Operations for Palm Beach County Fire Rescue before retiring in 2012 after 35 years of service.

“During my career, I served as Chief Flight Medic and spent a lot of time on board Trauma Hawk providing lifesaving care to traumatically-injured patients,” said Mr. O’Bannon. “I look forward to working with the Health Care District again and helping to carry out its mission.”

The Health Care District is a public health system that staffs Registered Nurses in nearly 170 public schools and funds and oversees a nationally-recognized Trauma System, which includes owning, operating and maintaining two Trauma Hawk air ambulances. The Health Care District also provides medical, dental and behavioral health services for adult and pediatric patients with or without insurance at its C. L. Brumback Primary Care Clinics throughout the county. In addition, the Health Care District operates a pharmacy program, provides health coverage for eligible uninsured residents, operates the Edward J. Healey Rehabilitation and Nursing Center in Riviera Beach and provides acute care hospital services at Lakeside Medical Center in Belle Glade.

The Health Care District is governed by a seven-member Board. Three are appointed by the Governor of the State of Florida: Philip H. Ward, III, Chair, Nancy C. Banner, Esq., Secretary, and Leslie B. Daniels. Three are appointed by the Board of County Commissioners: Brian R. Lohmann, Vice Chair, Angeleta Gray and Mr. O’Bannon. The seventh member is the Director of the State’s Department of Health for Palm Beach County, Alina M. Alonso, MD.