Glades Central High School presented annual Athletic Awards

Glades Central High School recently presented the annual athletic awards.

• Rene Leon was named the Coach of the Year at Glades Central High School this year.

The Raider baseball coach brought the program closer to respectability this year.

Arys Gil was Most Valuable Player, Lazaro Hernandez the Most Improved and David Gonzales the Highest Academic Achiever this year.

Thuran Smith was Male Athlete of the Year; Runelda Jackson the Female Athlete of the Year; Briana Sistrunk and Javian Jones won the Eddie Lee Rhodes Athletic Award; while James Blackman, Rodrick Martin, V’yana Hollingsworth and Zakiyah Brown won Leadership Awards.

Football Awards went to Rodrick Martin for the Coaches Award, Demetrius Martin for Most Improved Player, and Valens Roselvard for Highest Academic Achiever.

Junior Varsity Football awards were earned by Desna Washington for Most Valuable Player, Odieu Hilaire the Highest Academic Achiever and Javonte Williams with the Coaches Award.

Cheerleading awards went to Briana Sistrunk for MVP, Ja’Mya Felton for Highest Academic Achiever and V’yana Hollingsworth for Most Improved. JV Cheerleading awards went to Ty’Kese Butts for MVP, Adamaris Garcia for Most Improved and Dajah Willingham for Highest Academic Achiever.Competitive Cheerleading Awards went to Zakiyah Brown for MVP, Aniya Jackson for Most Improved and Lynkevius Adams for the Coaches Award.

• Zakiyah Brown and Wiskierra Lemene shared the MVP trophy for girls volleyball, Alexandra Santos-Gonzalez was the Highest Academic Achiever and Jonique Freeman won the Coaches Award.

JV girls volleyball awards went to Rose Berly Pierre for MVP, Dionica Milfort for the Coaches Award, and Crystal Foster for Highest Academic Achiever.

Bowling awards went to Alton McDonald for MVP, Desiree Lovely for Highest Academic Achiever, and V’yana Hollingsworth took home the Coaches Award.

Cross Country Awards went to MVP Quartavis Sellers, the Coaches Award to Venanza Vereen III and Runelda Jackson won the girls MVP.

• Elizabeth Vital was MVP for girls golf. Mayra Juarez won the Coaches Award and Dulce Diaz was the Highest Academic Achiever.

Boys Soccer Awards went to Juan Macias MVP, Andrew Louis the Most Improved, and Edwin Benitez the Highest Academic Achiever.

Girls Soccer Awards went to Alexandra Santos-Gonzalez MVP, Carmen Alcala the Most Improved, and Widma Fils Aime the Coaches Award.

• Rafi Hossain won the Coaches Award and Davius Richard the Most Improved and Highest Academic Achiever Trophy for boys tennis. Denise Barrera was the MVP, Jennica Pierre Most Improved and Andrise Octavius the Highest Academic Achiever for girls tennis.

Boys basketball awards went to Dejuan Miller MVP, Siurpry Rinvil Coaches Award, and Dejuan Miller the Highest Academic Achiever. JV Boys Basketball trophies went to Marc Volmar MVP, Jamar McClain the Most Improved and Rashaad Ingram the Coaches Award. Freshmen Basketball trophies went to Ivin Spenser Jr. for MVP, Venanza Vereen the Most Improved, and Elijah Burns the Coaches Award.

• Wiskierra Lemene won the MVP for girls basketball, while Jacquanda Robinson the Highest Academic Achiever and Dakedra Pompey the Most Improved. JV Girls Basketball trophies went to Jon’Quella Jackson the MVP, Aniyah Miller the Highest Academic Achiever, and Amelia Green the Coaches Award.

Softball Awards went to Ken’Neshia Jones the MVP, Kenyetta Dennard the Coaches Award, and Jordana Levy the Highest Academic Achiever.

Boys Weightlifting Awards went to Thuran Smith the MVP, Ja’Shawne Brown the Coaches Award, and Valens Roselvard the Highest Academic Achievement.

Girls Weightlifting Awards were claimed by Kimia Walker the MVP, and Jacquanda Robinson for Highest Academic Achievement.

• The boys track and field awards were earned by Raheem Alford the MVP, De’Markus Johnson the Most Improved, and Odieu Hiliare the Highest Academic Achiever.

• The MVP trophy for girls track and field was shared by Runelda Jackson and Dakedra Pompey. Ti’Uana Louissaint, Christina Estinfort, and Jon’Quella Jackson shared the Coaches Award while Wiskierra Lemene was the Highest Academic Achiever.

•  Flag football awards went to Wiskierra Lemene the MVP, Zakiyah Brown the Coaches Award, Te’Don’She’ye Johnson the Most Improved, Keria Federick the Offensive Player of the Year, Dakedra Pompey the Defensive Player of the Year, Christina Estinfort the Rookie of the Year, Widma Fils Aime the JV MVP, Jahmya Phipart the JV Offensive Player of the Year, Ti’uana Louissaint the JV Defensive Player of the Year.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.

Facebook Comment